Airbags, Insurance & God’s Mercy

At about 07:30 AM today, I was involved in a car accident on the corner of Schoeman street (a 4 laned one-way street) and Hill street in Pretoria. I was driving my brother to school and we were going down Hill street when I realized the traffic lights weren’t working so I stopped. As expected, some cars went by so I waited for my opportunity to cross the street. Most of the next bunch of cars stopped recognizing that I had the right of way, so I proceeded.
Suddenly I felt a huge bang and I was really scared so I closed my eyes. When I opened them, my car had spun 90 degrees and the front part was sort of on the pavement. We had been hit by car on my side (luckily it hit the back door). My initial instinct was to look to my left and see if my brother was okay. In that moment, I prayed that I wouldn’t see his body lying on the road having flung out of the car window. He was unharmed and swiftly got out of the car and stood on the pavement. My next instinct was to call my dad. I told him where we were and he said he’d be there as soon as he could. At that point I was surrounded by police, ambulances, tow trucks and witnesses. I realized what had just happened and I wept uncontrollably.
I did not want to get out of the car, but the lady who was comforting me insisted I get out to determine if I needed any medical assistance. As I was getting out of the car, my head rubbed against the airbag that protected my head against the glass and I thought: “The damage … how bad is it?” I was honestly way too scared to look. My dad had trusted me with that car for years now and I didn’t want to lose that trust. I took a few steps back from the car and looked at it. The whole right side of the car was completely damaged and the sight caused me to burst into tears.
After collecting business cards from witnesses and being hounded by EMTs, my dad arrived. He collected all the information he needed to claim from insurance and sorted out the towing situation while I gave my statement to the police. After that he gave me a big hug and I started crying, AGAIN. 
We took my brother to school and then we went  to the hospital so that I could get checked out. On the way to the hospital I told my dad that I have always been a cautious driver. He said “I know, but no matter how cautious you are, accidents happen. I’m just glad that God kept you both safe.” At the hospital, they determined I was fine after a series of tests and x-rays and stuff. They prescribed something for the pain I was in due to shock, and we went home.
After texting my mum, I took some of the medication and went to sleep. When I woke up, I found my dad in the kitchen and he seemed really … weird. He expressed how he grateful he was that we were okay and that he realized that in one accident, he could have lost both his children and that he would’ve been all alone in life with nothing much to live for. When he said that my heart shattered. He also told me that he thinks my brother is not doing well emotionally so I went to my brother’s room to check on him. When I got there, I found him lying in bed in the dark, staring at the ground. The state he was in made me cry. If anything had happened to him, I would never forgive myself. I realized that as much as I dislike him a times, we only have each other. I realized how much he truly means to me.
Me and my brother
Only God knows how grateful I am to be alive today! Like your life literally flashes before your eyes, I don’t think I’ve ever been that scared in my entire life! My faith in God has definitely strengthened through this. I sure as hell won’t be driving anytime soon (not unless I REALLY have to). I am still in a bit of pain from the shock to my body, but physically I’m fine. Emotionally, well, I’m still dealing with that. The whole thing haunts me. I’m really lucky though, and I’m counting my blessings and all that. Life’s looking preeetty great from where I’m standing! 
Thank you to all my friends and family for all the love you’ve shown me. I really appreciate it!
God Bless

P.S A public apology to everyone who spoke to me face to face this morning as I hadn’t brushed my teeth yet when the accident happened. Heehee!

xo

4 thoughts on “Airbags, Insurance & God’s Mercy

  1. Yeah that was definitely crazy, no one ever wants to be in a situation like that but you handled it really well given the circumstances, so relieved that the two of you are okay. Been in a couple of accidents and it always affects you in ways you can't really predict so I'm glad you're writing (really well) about it. Stay safe cuz

    Like

  2. Thanks! It was crazy indeed, like I said I've never been that scared in my entire life! I'm still emotional about it and I think about it a lot (cry sometimes). Just trying to deal with it the best way I can. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

